INDIE ARTISTS

Gregory Abbott - a platinum recording artist, songwriter and producer who was signed to Columbia Records and chose to be independent. http://www.gregoryabbott.com

Matt Allison - an independent folk/pop artist who owns and runs Upside Down Records out of Cape Town, South Africa. http://www.matt-allison.com

Robby Baier - signed to BMG Ariola in Germany; now independent, both solo and with his band Melodrome. http://www.melodrome.net

George Baum - half of the Christian duo (with Michael Bridges), Lost And Found. They released their first album in 1980 and have been performing together ever since. http://www.speedwood.com

Clint Black - signed to RCA Records for almost 15 years. His path is now independent with his own label, Equity Music Group http://www.equitymusicgroup.com

Canjoe John - builds, sells and plays the canjoe, a one stringed musical instrument with one tuner key, 10 frets and the string pulled through a 12 oz beverage can as the resonator. http://www.canjoe.com

Cari Cole - an independent artist and voice teacher. http://www.caricole.com

Clare Cooper - a singer/songwriter and has found many ways to use her musical talents as a full time independent artist. http://www.clarecooper.com

Jennie DeVoe - a full time singer/songwriter who's run her own Rubin the Cat Records since 1998. http://www.jenniedevoe.com

Pat Dinizio - has been lead singer/guitarist for the Smithereens for over 25 years and now tours extensively through the living room concert series he developed. http://www.patdinizio.com

Danielle Egnew - a solo artist who is also the front woman for Pope Jane. http://www.danielleegnew.com

Kyler England - a full time singer/songwriter who tours and often opens for top acts. http://www.kylerengland.com

Lorraine Ferro - a singer/songwriter who signed to EMI for her songwriting and plays in a big variety of venues and situations. http://www.lorraineferro.com

MC Forge - part of the hip hop group Little Egypt, touring colleges and festivals. http://www.littleegypt-ny.com

Mary Gauthier - a singer/songwriter who tours the world and her music is licensed internationally. http://www.marygauthier.com

Marly Hornik - a pop/rock singer/songwriter who tours the country and sells her CD. http://www.marlyhornik.com

Tor Hyams - a singer/songwriter who found his niche in composing for film and television. http://www.tor.net

David Ippolito - known as "that Guitar Man from Central Park" after playing in the same spot since 1992 and making a full time living from his music from it. http://www.thatguitarman.com

Michael Jonathan - an acoustic folk singer who's earned a full time from his music since 1985 and the founder of Woodsongs, an internationally syndicated radio show. http://www.woodsongs.com

Christine Kane - a singer-songwriter who tours the country and sells her CD since 1995. http://www.christinekane.com

Eric Kaye - creative director/executive producer for The Lodge, a songwriter and also part of the band, The Strines. http://www.thestrines.com

Justin Lassen - sees himself as a digital symphonist/ composer in classical/pop/rock/alt/electronic music and also sings, remixes and produces. http://www.justinlassen.com

Jennifer Marks - has been performing as a solo artist and put out her first CD in 1998. http://www.jennifermarks.com

Daniel Lee Martin - a country music singer whose records are released on Chin Music, a label founded by major league ball players investors who believe in Martin. http://www.danielleemartin.com

Corky McClerkin - a pianist who plays hard bebop, soul jazz and contemporary jazz full time. http//www.corkymcclerkin.com

DJ Minx - founded Women on Wax with a group of other female DJs which holds events in Detroit for showcasing up and coming female talent and has performed all over the world. http://www.womenonwax.com

Ezina Moore - a rock/R&B artist who's sold over15,000 CD's and toured around the world. http://www.ezinamoore.com

Zak Morgan - writes, records, and performs children's music and was nominated for a Grammy in 2004. http://www.zakmorgan.com

Lisa O'Kane - a country artist who has an established   touring and recording career independently in Europe. http://www.lisaokane.com

Dorothy Potter - a guitarist, composer and songwriter who began making music professionally in 1990 and made it a full time living in 2002. http://www.dorothypotter.com

Preech-Man - started rhyming for money when he was 16 and has opened up for many other artists, including DMX. http://www.bedrocrecords.com

Hamish Richardson - lead singer of the Australian band BROTHER, who began in the US by busking and have now sold over 200,000 records and tour extensively. http://www.brothermusic.com

Adam Richman - a singer/songwriter, who broke in through the college market, doing 100-150 gigs a year. http://www.adamrichman.com

Evan R. Saffer - lead singer of FIXER, which began in 2000 and now tours extensively. http//www.fixermusic.com

Rachael Sage - a singer/songwriter with a full time label manager and 3 part timers to back up her national and international touring and CD sales (about 35,000 so far). http://www.rachelsage.com

Anton Sanko - one of the first musicians to master sampling technology and became a highly sought after keyboard player and programmer. He now provides scores for film and TV. http://www.antonsanko.com

Dean Seltzer - left his day job in 1996 and continues to tour the country and market his CD. http://www.deanseltzer.com

Michelle Shocked - left Mercury Records and kept her recording and touring career going independently through her own label, Mighty Sound Records. http://www.michelleshocked.com

Speech - in the hip hop group, Arrested Development, which was signed to EMI Records in the 90's. Since EMI closed, he developed a solo career as well as continuing to record and tour with the group. http//www.speechmusic.com

Howie Statland - a singer/songwriter who made three records for RCA; now has a band, NYSmoke, and records and tours independently full time. http://www.soundarte.com

Suzanne Teng - a new age music artist with a specialty in the flute. http://www.suzanneteng.com

Barbara Tucker - a singer and dancer who had dance hits with Strictly Rhythm. She now executive produces her own projects and has promoted the Underground Network. http://www.barbaratucker.com

Visual Poet - part of hip hop group Little Egypt (See DJ Forge).

Jonathan Williams - in the UK hip hop act, Hoodz Underground, who have received consistent high profile media coverage, and runs Trackshicker Records, the label their music is released on. http://www.trackshickerrecords.com

Beth Wood - a singer/songwriter who tours all over the country and has performed with top artists. http://www.bethwoodmusic.com

Mark Wood - an electric violinist who's won platinum records and gold records. He now composes for television and has a music library of his original compositions. http://www.markwoodmusic.com

Alex Woodard - a singer/songwriter who has earned a full time living for years by putting out his CDs and performing in a variety of venues. http://www.alexwoodard.com

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

I want to salute the artists in my other books too! I've listed their names and websites. Please visit and support them

Indie Artists in Start & Run Your Own Record Label

David M. Bailey http://www.davidmbailey.com

K. Banger http://www.KBanger.com

Jonatha Brooke http://www.jonathabrooke.com

EL-P http://www.definitivejux.net

GrooveLily http://www.groovelily.com

Rich Hardesty http://www.richhardesty.com

Red to Violet http://www.redtoviolet.com/

Lorenzo LaRoc http://www.vioart.com

Jane Siberry http://www.janesiberry.com

Trout Fishing in America http://www.troutmusic.com

Dan Zanes http://www.festivalfive.com

Artists in The Real Deal: How to Get Signed to a Record Label

Jo Davidson http://www.JoDavidson.com

Fisher http://www.fishertheband.com

Pat Green http://www.patgreen.com

Pam Hart http://www.pamhart.com

Terri Hendrix http://www.terrihendrix.com

Sara Hickman http://www.sarahickman.com

Reckless Kelly http://www.recklesskelly.com

Michelle Lewis http://www.michellelewismusic.com

Nina Mankin http://www.ninamankin.com

Shawn Mullins http://www.smgrecords.com

MC Overlord http://www.overlordmusic.com

Lezlee Peterzell http://www.lezlee.com

Schrodinger's Cat http://www.s-cat.com

Naked Blue http://www.nakedblue.com

Jerry Jeff Walker    http://www.jerryjeff.com

Friday's Child http://www.frichild.com

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Many of these labels are in partnerships with their artists. In general, indie labels are much more supportive of their artists and much more into the quality of the music they release. Please visit these labels and support them!

Independent Labels in Start & Run Your Own Record Label

Artemis Records http://www.artemisrecords.com

Aware Records http://www.awarerecords.com

Blind Pig Records http://www.blindpigrecords.com

Cropduster Records http://www.cropduster.com

Deep Elm Records http://www.deepelm.com

Definitive Jux Records http://www.definitivejux.net

Everfine Records http://www.everfinerecords.com

Gotham Records http://www.gothamrecords.com

MC Records http://www.mc-records.com

New West Records http://www.newwestrecords.com

Razor & Tie Music http://www.www.razorandtie.com

Redemption Records http://www.redemption.net

Saddle Creek Records http://www.saddle-creek.com

13 Stories Records http://www.13Storiesrecords.com/

Victory Records http://www.victoryrecords.com